• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • manowar
    • Jun 2007

USS Jack

Hello Everyone,
    I would like to formally introduce myself. My name is Joel Stadnick and I absolutely love to build things, and lately over the last year and a half or so, those things have been scratch built submarines. I am also the guy who built the HMK USS Permit reviewed in the last SCR by Paul Crozier

My background is a mixed one. I live In Calgary, Alberta, Canada and currently, I supervise the instrumentation technician crew at a natural gas compressor-manufacturing firm where we install and commission all the automation and controls for these units. An interesting note here is that we actually test run some of the same engines that the US navy currently use as auxiliary drivers for their newest attack submarine class. Before getting into this racket though, I have worked at various construction jobs with the majority of them involving cabinet and countertop making. I am married and we have two small boys, and as you can guess, they take quite a bit of my free time, but I like to get out in the shop whenever I can. Hobbies include woodworking, electronics, home theater, and of course, model building.

Getting on to what my purpose is here, I intend to do a build thread highlighting SSN-605 USS Jack done in 1:72 scale based on my Permit class kit that I built over the last year and a half and will utilize many of the same parts used there and modify others, not exactly a true scratch build, as most of the hard work was tackled when doing the Permit from scratch. I will also be offering the Jack as a kit like my 1:72 USS Permit/Thresher sub is. For those interested in reading the full build from the start, it can be found at this link: http://www.subpirates.com/viewtopic.php?t=2540