I'm interested in model submarines and looking for advice..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • scottyk
    • Jul 2017

I'm interested in model submarines and looking for advice..

Hey guys I am obviously a new guy here to the forum and I am interested in getting into RC submarines. I am a experienced modeler with experience ranging from racing RC cars, machining and casting my own parts for model steam engines, autonomous drones, brushless and lipos, I even 3d printed my own working RC snowblower. I have messed with alot of areas of this hobby and have alot of the tools needed such as a mill, lathe, 3d printer, silver soldering supplies, TIG welding, casting metals etc... I also have enough experience to realize how complicated things can get in a hurry so in the interest of saving me months of failed experiments I figured I would come here and ask the experts!

With that being said, I feel like a simple dynamic diving submarine would not be the excitement I am after in a sub, so I am interested in a static diving model I could run in a larger pool or open water. I would have access to a swimming pool with a underwater observation window a few times a year, so assuming a FM radio would penetrate the window and water I think this would be a great place to run a sub along with the local boating spots.

I am not a "submarine enthusiast" so the scale accuracy is not a big deal, I do however like the looks of older U-boats when compared to the round shape of the newer nuclear style submarines. I am not looking for a very long term project, something I could build in a month or 2 would be nice.

Thanks! Scott K
  • eckloss
    • Nov 2003

Here is a must-read for beginners: http://www.subcommittee.com/scr/subs...stevesbook.pdf

Comment

• subdude
      Official Peon
      • Feb 2003

Scott,