• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • KevinMC
    SubCommittee Member
    • Sep 2005

Scratch-built 1/96 Oscar II

Greetings fellow submariners!

I've been lurking about reading everyone else's how-to threads for a while now, I guess it's about time for me to put back in... Guys like Steve N (U812) and Adam (Aeroengineer) are a tough act to follow, but I'll do my best. I dunno if my build will progress along as quickly as other build threads since submarines are all new to me, but I'm determined to give it a go anyways. I have been building and flying RC aircraft for about 15 years, predominantly jets of late, so setting up RC equipment and fiberglass construction techniques are not new to me. As I am new to subs though, I'll be more than happy to hear about it if it looks like I'm going astray...
    Kevin McLeod - OSCAR II driver
    KMc Designs
  • KevinMC
    SubCommittee Member
    • Sep 2005

I guess I should also

I guess I should also have stated that I've decided to build this monster in 1/96 scale to match all the other nuke-boat kits, and that I'll be building a glass-over foam master, then molds, and finally pull my hull from that. Of course the other benefit of doing things this way is that I can make more, so if anyone is interested I could be persuaded to make a couple extra hull kits.