X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Deperdussin1910
    • Feb 2020

Fenian Ram (Holland II) 1881, 1/12 scale, RC, scratch built

I'm brand new to SubCommittee and this build log is my attempt to build an early submarine by John P. Holland...the father of attack submarines. My background is scratch-built RC scale sailboats of the 19th century. I have also build two power models from the 19th century. One of the subject areas I like to research is Irish maritime history which this model celebrates. I hope to take my completed model to the Patterson Museum, which has the original, for a photo of both submarines.

My knowledge of Holland and the Fenian Ram come from Web searches...many of them pass over Holland until his Holland VI. I also have two books: Going Deep: John Philip Holland and the Invention of the Attack Submarine by Lawrence Goldstone and John P. Holland: 1841-1914 Inventor of the Modern Submarine by Richard K. Morris.

Here is some quick Wiki info as general background:

"Fenian Ram is a submarine designed by John Philip Holland for use by the Fenian Brotherhood, the American counterpart to the Irish Republican Brotherhood, against the British. The Ram's construction and launching in 1881 by the Delamater Iron Company in New York was funded by the Fenians' Skirmishing Fund. Officially Holland Boat No. II, the role of the Fenians in its funding led the New York Sun newspaper to name the vessel the Fenian Ram.

Fenian Ram's design was partly modelled on the Whitehead torpedo, and like it had cruciform control fins near the tail. The boat did not simply take on ballast until she sank like other contemporary submarines; she maintained a slightly positive buoyancy, and simply tilted her horizontal planes so that her forward motion forced her under.