• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • thor
    SubCommittee Member
    • Feb 2009

3D Printing. A "How-To" pattern making from PLA

If you've been reading my build thread on my 1/32nd Russian WWII Shch Fleet boat you have seen the project that I have been messing around with since 1991. This subject has been an obsession with me over the last 29 years and the project is in the homestretch. The patterns are complete and all ready to mold up now, but I do not have enough material on fabricate a set of molds for such a large hull (73"). I have the material on order, but due to the current industrial shutdowns nationwide I will be waiting for months before all of the material is available. So, I have turned to a smaller project in the mean time for which I do have enough material on hand (barely) to complete the hull mold and get the boat ready for the Carmel Fun Run in 2021. I have decided to take the 3D CAD work that has been worked up for my 1/32nd PIKE and reduce it to .6667 to produce a 1/48th scale version of the same boat. Instead of machining the hull out of wood on my CNC Router, I have decided to demonstrate how to produce a super accurate pattern made from readily available and very inexpensive PLA plastic for my 3D printers. PLA (poly lactic Acid) plastic is a very nice material to work with for model building. While it is extremely easy to work with it does have a few drawbacks. For an application such as fabricating a functional hull, PLA is really not the best choice. ABS or ASA are much better choices as they stand up to the UV radiation and exterior heat much better than PLA. I happen to have about 30 rolls of PLA on hand so I am going to print the hull out in sections, assemble them on a rack, and then prepare the hull pattern in the very same manner that I would if I had machined the hull from locust or yellow pine.

Here is a semi-rendered image of the boat as I intend to finish her.

Last edited by thor; 08-15-2020, 01:19 PM.
    Regards,

Matt