X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • swede ware
    • Aug 2015

Wood deck add on for 1/72nd Type IX

Would appreciate any info/advise for using this on this kit. I have reservations on 1) the cost and 2) the problems with mounting this to the kit. I can see that it will need to be reinforced as it won't be as firm as the plastic deck but will add a more 3 dimensional effect, I believe. Any help with this will be appreciated! I have done A/C for years and then went over to armor, for the rust and dirt. This is my first time with subs, so all new to me.
  • scott t
    • Feb 2003

Display Model right?

How does the mfg. recommend attaching the deck?
    Could you glue it to the surface of the existing plastic deck?
    Do you have a link to the product?

Scott T

Comment

• JWLaRue
      Managing Editor, SubCommittee Report
      • Aug 1994

How thick is the wood deck compared to the kit-supplied plastic deck?

-Jeff
      Rohr 1.....Los!

Comment

• salmon
        Treasurer
        • Jul 2011

Welcome to the Subcommittee!
        I have not used a wood deck and I preference that because my observations on wood decks are from what others have posted. I personally avoided using wood decks mainly from reading what issues others have run into on Gato builds, so is this fair to comment? Maybe not, so take my thoughts with that in mind. The decks look great for static displays, but need to be sealed really, really well if it is to be used in a working sub. The deck that comes with the Type IX looks pretty good to me as it is and is very durable for water usage.
        What are the advantages? With the openings you might think better performance, I am not so sure about that.