• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • petero
    • Apr 2006

1/144 Thresher/Permit detail parts

Hi all,

I'm an old newbie here - I originally joined for a few years back in the 1990s, and just re-upped.

As a Thresher fan (I grew up near PNSY), I'm considering buying the 1/144 Modelsvit Thresher kit. Are there any detail kits for the screens over ballast tank vents and other hull openings, cleats, bollards and so forth for 1/144 nukes? You'll have to pardon my terminology, since I'm an AF vet, not Navy

Thanks for your help!

Peter
  • tom dougherty
    • Jul 2005

I see some fairly numerous photoetch parts with the kit. Are those flood grates (screens for the ballast tank) for the lower hull? Also it looks like the kit may come with cleats as well. I do see that the kit has the 7 blade "J" propeller, which I have been told on good authority never made it onto Thresher. She apparently still had the 5 blade speed prop when she was lost.

The 1/144 scale is not terribly common. HR products makes white metal fittings, but not really anything you could use in that scale. http://www.hrprod.com

Comment

• petero
      • Apr 2006

Thanks for replying, Tom. It looks like the only PE parts are the zincs, judging from the photos here:

The stern photo in this eBay listing shows that they don't bear much resemblance to the real things. If all the fretwork around each block was removed, and the blocks butted end to end, it would look more realistic.

Eduard could make a really nice PE set for it, with all the hull openings, stanchions, and maybe some open hatch details. But given the relative marketability of a Thresher/Permit set versus, say, another Bf 109... ain't gonna happen .

The surface details appear to match the 1/350 Mikro-Mir kit, with simple scribed shapes to represent the various hull openings below the centerline. I was hoping for a PE set similar to Jeff LaRue's 1/72 set, which I've noticed on the site.