• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jc carbonel
    • Dec 2003

a few questions related to the typ VII

[color=#000000]Hello

I have "attacked" Revell's big box but as I am no expert I have a few questions ]
  • sam reichart
    Past President
    • Feb 2003

1. lots of discussion always

1. lots of discussion always around this one. Everyone sees the red color done in "U-Boats in Action" and assumes it is factual. Meanwhile, others state no boat ever went out in primer red. Paint it how you like it. Either argument has its defenders. Shouldn't it be about what you like too?

2. Yellow bands on U Boats denoted boats for training Flotillas. Mike Dory paints just about every R/C U Boat he owns with this type of ID stripe. It's different, looks nice, and may help visibility for R/C boats.

3. Most will argue that the dark grey is the same for type VIIs...search these forums and you will find many references to the correct "light grey" and "dark grey" color discussions.

4.What you have surmised is correct. There were tubes behind the outer shutters, like the IXs. Some of the books on UBoats actually have some decent photos of the inner tubes...(vom original for the Type XXIII comes to mind. shows how they alined the tubes with a type of "jig"...)

hope this helps...

Comment

• jc carbonel
      • Dec 2003

Thank you for the reply

Thank you for the reply !
      This will help me a lot.
      Actually two more questions "surfaced" in the mean time ] level and with the containers is listed as just typ VIIC in a big book called "the U-boat" which I have . And I am really puzzled because I have also seen the label "VII configuration 1944" applied to this variant. Which label exactly should I put on my model (I know the configuration is correct because in the "In Action" there is a pix of a ship with just this config ...

Thank you

JCC

Comment

• sam reichart
        Past President
        • Feb 2003

JC-
        Can't help you on the

JC-