X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • carcharadon
    • Feb 2003

Hydrodynamics of the Nautilus - some thoughts and observations

I am not a hydrodynamic engineer but with two models of the Nautilus 4 ft. and 7 ft. and with numerous speed modifications to both in my attempts to re-create the bowwave effect, as seen in the original movie with the Nautilus in ramming posture to rip the hull out of a surface vessel I can make the following observations. As others have noted the design of the Nautilus characteristically makes it want to nosedive from a surface running position. There are a number of variables related to this not necessarily in direct proportion i.e. non-linear relationships.

First the sub wants to dive in relation to its size and speed. These relationships are not necessarily proportional or direct. Taking for example a relative speed of say 50 knots the larger sub is less likely to nosedive. And while I do not believe this is a directly proportional relationship my feeling is that at some theoretical size this effect is minimal or nonexistent. So that the full scale submarine probably would not experience the effect unless of course the speed was very great.

Conversely a sub i.e. the Nautilus, at any given scale or size will not exhibit this tendency to nosedive until some theoretical speed is reached and the speed is not a relative constant but somehow varies in accord with hydrodynamics way beyond me.