X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Project971
    • Dec 2018

Radio recommendations

I am very new to the world of RC subs and got my first kit, a Dumas Akula, recently. I am at the point in the build that I need a controller and receiver. I have an aircraft controller that I thought would work until I learned about the frequencies needed. What is a good, somewhat budget friendly, controller/receiver combo for this sub? It is a fairly simple sub and only needs forward and reverse throttle, dive plane pitch and rudder control. Thanks
  • JWLaRue
    Managing Editor, SubCommittee Report
    • Aug 1994

Welcome to the world of R/C subs!

Assuming that you're in North America, you'll be looking for a 75MHz radio and one with at least 4 channels. Something like the Futaba Skysport 4 would fit the bill. That said, if you think you will be building additional subs that include capabilities like a ballast system, bow planes, etc. then you should look for a radio with at least 6 channels.

Radios that operate on the 75MHz band are getting more difficult to find given the wholesale changeover of the rest of the R/C community to 2.4GHz radios. You can find used ones on sites like http://www.rcgroups.com or a few places that still have new radios in stock. One of our SubCommittee vendor members has radios on hand - Nautilus Drydocks. You can find them at: https://www.rc-submarine.com

...hope this helps!

Jeff
    Rohr 1.....Los!

Comment

• Chuck
      • May 2015

The reply that JWLaRue gave is spot on. The most important thing to remember in NOT to waste your time and money on 2.4 GHz radio equipment....it simply will not work in a submarine. Also, Nautilus Drydocks Bob Martin is a very reliable and ethical guy.

Comment

• salmon
        Treasurer
        • Jul 2011

Plus he has some radios on sale!
        Check out his list: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...ZVc/edit#gid=0
        Better yet, send him an email: sales@nautilusdrydocks.com