• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • itolond
    • Jan 2004

Depth Sensor electronics

Hi forum,

not long ago I was chasing Subtech for a depth control unit, But it appears I was not fast enough. Needless to say my need has not vanished and in the essence of 'building your own boat' I wanted to see if i could find out what type of hydrostatic pressure sensor was used on the boards.
    I can build out the module but i am lost to see what was used to determine depth via pressure (i assume)

any guides, links and part numbers would be a great kicker....
  • southern or
    • May 2014

Engel's has several types of sensors. I'm still learning how to use it, but their LTR6 has a sensor and is a pitch and depth controller. The other system they offer is the TAE piston ballast tank Switch unit that has an optional static depth controller (TAES).

Hope that helps. My current project is using their TAE piston tank system without the TAES controller, but it does have the LTR6. The LTR6 also has a self leveler built in.
    Last edited by southern or; 05-25-2015, 02:08 PM.

Comment

• southern or
      • May 2014

Almost forgot, we have a page for vendors so be sure to check that out. RC-Sub Workshop also carries them.

Comment

• KevinMC
        SubCommittee Member
        • Sep 2005

I've got a depth control unit that I've been working on for a while now which uses a common absolute pressure transducer. (BMP085)

What's the "plane configuration" on your boat? (Are you looking to maintain depth from bow planes or stern planes?)
        Kevin McLeod - OSCAR II driver
        KMc Designs

Comment

• itolond
          • Jan 2004

Originally posted by KevinMC View Post
          I've got a depth control unit that I've been working on for a while now which uses a common absolute pressure transducer. (BMP085)

What's the "plane configuration" on your boat? (Are you looking to maintain depth from bow planes or stern planes?)