• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rayfel
    • Jan 2009

Russian Imperial (?) Submarine Badge

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i166/ ... G_1687.jpg
    http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i166/ ... G_1688.jpg
    I hope you can bear with me if I ramble on. In 1994 I was visiting Russia for the first time. Aside from the normal tourist activities, I was hoping to obtain a Soviet era submarine badge. Twenty years earlier I was a crew member* on the Hughes Glomar Explorer, which raised a portion (38 ft) of the Golf II, K-129 from 16,500 feet in the North Pacific. During exploitation of the wreck, we found a crew members inspection kit consisting of his badge (white metal with red enamel star) and belt buckle in remarkably good condition. Naturally, taking souvenirs was not permitted, but I always wanted one as a token of a memorable experience.

*I was a consultant, and interviewed on camera, for Michael White's film AZORIAN:The Raising of The K-129.

While in St. Petersburg, I visited the Military-Historical Museum of Artillery and was surprised to see a man wearing a submarine badge on his chest. When I approached him, I could see it was not the badge I was looking for. As I got closer, I could recognize what looked like the Russian Imperial double headed eagle emblem on the badge. He was middle aged, it obviously wasn't originally his so I stopped him and offered to buy it. I was surprised when he accepted. Not having a common language, I somehow received the impression it had belonged to a deceased relative. It was hard times, he wanted US dollars and he settled for $10. I later found some Soviet submarine badges at a flea market in Moscow.