X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DaveAK
    • Dec 2015

Hello from new forum member!

Hi all! Just thought I'd start an introductory thread and check that I've come to the right place for help with a project I'm in the initial planning stages for. I'm currently kicking around ideas for an AUV and preliminary research on the internet often brings up links to the SubCommittee. Not a submarine in the sense of what you guys are doing, but it will need to operate underwater as well as at the surface. I understand the basic principles, (or at least I think I do!), but I'll need a little help with some of the finer details and already have a couple of questions about ballast tanks. If you'll humour a non-Navy guy and a non-Navy vessel then I'd be more than happy to pony up the very modest membership fee to be able to pick the brains of some very obviously knowledgeable individuals.

My background isn't very impressive in any particular field, I'm just an avid tinkerer with overly ambitious ideas! I live in Alaska and spend my winters in my workshop. Right now I have more projects than I know what to do with, but that hasn't stopped me thinking about more. With this AUV my aim would be to continue the research and design this winter, start purchasing what I need over the summer, and complete construction next winter. My intention is that I will track the vessel using GPS and satellite communications, and be able to monitor its performance and provide it course corrections as needed.