• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JigSaw
    • Aug 2015

Looking for U-404 Information.

Hello to all,

I am new to the Site. I have been modeling for well over 40 years and after a disappointing experience with the Robbe u-47 about 15 Years ago I have decided to step up my game and give this another shot.

This time I went all out and ordered the OTW Type VII kit from Bob. As Bob called it (the whole nine yards), I ordered the Hull Kit, Extended Conning tower and WTC Dive Module. At the time of ordering I had not decided which version to build so I ordered the Lot. So far I have received the Hull Kit and Conning tower kit and am now awaiting the Dive Module.

Since ordering I have decided to model the earlier version and not the extended version. I have an Andrea Conning tower that I will be modifying to use and am in the research mode for the U-404.

My problem is I can not find a definitive answer to one question, What color was the Prow of the Viking long boat painted on the Conning tower? I found Red but then found out those reports to be erroneous. U Boat.net has no record as well as many other sites.

I am hoping the experts here can help.

All the best.

Trev.
  • JWLaRue
    Managing Editor, SubCommittee Report
    • Aug 1994

Red....this based on Georg Högel's excellent book "U-boat Emblems of World War II: 1939-1945". Georg served on U-boats during WW2 and did extensive research on the emblems for all U-boats.

-Jeff
    Rohr 1.....Los!

Comment

• JigSaw
      • Aug 2015

Thank you Jeff,

Red it is then. I will have to look for a copy of his Book.

Trev.

Comment

• JigSaw
        • Aug 2015

The photo's I find of U-404 are few, One partially shows an underwater Camera on the conning tower? Does anyone have any photo's of this? Or any other Photo's of U-404. My Books and my internet searches are coming up with three pictures.

Thanks,
        Trev.

Comment

• JWLaRue
          • Aug 1994

What three photos do you have?

-Jeff